Schedules: OCD or Necessary?

I have to block out every moment of my day in a schedule in order to function. If I don’t, I find I just…. waffle around for a while, snack, and then get a sinking feeling in my stomach when I look at the clock and realize a whole day has rushed by. It isn’t relaxing. It isn’t helpful. I’m learning that in order for me to enjoy my time, I must allocate ‘work time’ and ‘play time’. When I’m in ‘work time’ I must create a schedule to delineate my day and feel fulfilled at the end. During ‘play time’ I must remove myself from any setting that reminds me of my to-do list and just turn my brain off to it. As soon as there is any inkling that I can get some form of work done, my relaxation is lost. I tumble down that rabbit hole and never emerge satisfied.

I’d say in this case, “necessary” is the winning word.

Leave a Reply

