Nature: Backyard Birdwatching

I woke up yesterday and, like any other day, walked my sleepy self to the bathroom. Next to our washroom sink there is a window that looks into our backyard. I heard some twittering and opened the windowshade to see what all the fuss was about. When I did so I was greeted by the sight of innumerable grey birds flitting in and out of a giant berry bush we have growing along our fence. The birds were having a feeding frenzy! Hanging upside down, flying in and out of the shrub, plucking off every single berry they could find.

I stood there, watching for a long while, hypnotized by hungry little fliers.

When I woke up this morning my first thoughts were of the birds and wondering whether they’d be back to feast some more. I walked out into our backyard and found only a very berry bare bush. The only remains of fruit on the shrub were either the unripened green berries, or the scat that had been scattered on the bush’s leaves from so many feasting feathered bodies.

Leave a Reply

